Bismillah

All praise and thanks belongs to Allah. Lord & Creator of all the worlds. May Allah bestow His peace & mercy upon the Prophet, his family, his companions and on all of those who follow them truth until The Last Day. Aameen.

As salaam alaikum wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh,

Here are some of my personal thoughts of tonight. If you are Muslim, you should look Muslim. Be it male or female, people should be able to recognize you are Muslim just by looking at you. "Why?" You may ask. I'll explain.

We are all brothers and sisters in Islam. The Prophet sallahu alayhi wasalem told us this very many times. Not only are we brothers and sisters, but as Muslims we have a code of conduct, morals and respect that we are supposed to follow. Now not all of us do this, but we should and most Muslims are aware of the rules and boundaries that are never meant to be cross by two strangers (ie. shaking hands with the opposite sex). That being said, I feel MUCH more comfortable around other Muslims than I do around people who know nothing about my religion. I would like to be able to identify them if necessary  I'll give you a scenario.
Woman is lost. Scared and alone. On the streets at night with no money to get home. Who would it be better for her to approach  One of her brothers and sisters in Islam, or a non-Muslim? If she approached a Brother, he would know to keep his distance out of respect, keep his hands to himself, and find her a way home where she wouldn't be alone with a man who was not her relative. If it was a sister, surely she would give her a ride home. A non-muslim? Might attempt to shake hands, might come to close for comfort and might offer her a ride home in HIS car, ALONE. A woman may or may not give her a ride. This could also not be the best situation depending on if she smoked or drank alcohol or had her boyfriend in the car ect. I could go on and on about the possibilities.
Is being helped by a Muslim fool proof? No, but I do believe the chances of the interaction being better with someone who knows your religious morals and rules than someone who doesn't. Sure you may disagree. This is my opinion I'm basing off personal experience. If I ever needed help, I would prefer the Ummah to help me more than anyone else....


So women, wear hijab, or even better niqab. Men wear kufiyah or a thobe/khamis and grow a beard. Let your selves be known as the Ummah. Be proud. Try your best to emulate the manners of the Prophet sallahu alayhi wasalem and give dawah simply be being your self! What is better than that?? As the title says, if it walks like a duck, sounds like a duck and looks like a duck, it's probably a duck. So walk like a Muslim, talk like a Muslim and look like a Muslim.

Little did you know, your niqab, hijab, beard or thobe may be what gives someone the idea to go home and research Islam. For me, I always thought covered women were beautiful. Allah is the one who guides but He showed me these women to soften my heart toward Islam. So please don't just give dawah, BE DAWAH everyday!


What do you think about appearing as Muslim? 

Do you feel is unnecessary?

Do you feel more comfortable approaching Muslims rather than non Muslims?




Leave a Reply.

    About Me

    Happily Married Muslimah with two children. Blessed everyday by Allah in too many ways to count. Love my family and friends and just striving to get to Jannah like the rest of the Ummah!

    Archives

    February 2013

    Categories

    All